Was there a pictorial composition secret?

The best secret is one that you are not even aware of.

Paul Valéry

In fact, the complete question would be:

" Did painters from Antiquity to modern times have a secret

to compose their paintings? "

Personally I think there was a desire to keep secret the rules and techniques of composition that I reveal here thanks to pictorial archeology. But this is only my point of view, this question must be settled by art historians. I am not qualified in this area to be able to speak legitimately .

To illustrate the questions and the problem that this poses, I transcribe here a conversation that I had on this subject in 2014 with three French museum directors whose names I will not say.

Conversation with a museum director

A museum director:

- I heard that you presented a speech on painting in the form of a conference?

 

Guy Mauchamp:

- Yes. I set up in spring 2013 a conference-show whose title is "The secret art of painters".

 

Director

- Well, you say "The secret art of painters"? Is there a painters' secret? But, it would be known if there was a secret about painting, right? There may still be some details to discover, but on the whole we already know a lot in the field of painting history!

 

GM

- In fact of secret art, I speak more precisely of the art of pictorial composition. Namely, how the painters organized, built, structured their graphic compositions.

 

- Come on, the pictorial composition is already widely mentioned in the works on painting. And we know practically everything on this subject, right?

 

- Be careful not to confuse the many ancient works that deal with the proportions of the human body, or perspective. By cons there is nothing, no old work on the pictorial composition. It seems to be covered by a secret which conceals its major aspects.

 

- How you go! A secret of the pictorial composition! But still, it would be known today if there had been a secret about the composition. With modern means of investigation, X-ray photos, nuclear spectrography, and what not, many scientific specialists have already seen everything there was to see! Perhaps your imagination is just overflowing ...

 

- Yes, I understand your astonishment, but as Paul Valéry said, "The best secret is one that we are not even aware of". If specialists are not aware of certain patterns to look for, they simply will not identify them. If they even saw them, they would not list them as clues to be treated or as the start of new investigations. It is the problem of the lack of mental model which becomes the brake.

 

- I grant you. But does this mean that you, you have new complex electronic equipment that would allow you to see new scientific data?

 

- No. On the contrary! Quite the opposite, what I observe in the paintings are humble, discreet and sometimes tiny elements which, without being hidden, do not attract attention because they are not seen as clues.

 

- You intrigue me. You mean that you have concrete, objective elements that would establish something new about the pictorial composition?

 

- Absolutely ! And I have more observable material elements than necessary to lay the foundations for a verifiable and reproducible theory. My problem is to make it clear that there is a secret of the painters of which it would be interesting to become aware.

Guy Mauchamp au Louvre - Photo Meriem Bentahar

- For the difficulty of making you heard ... that I understand. There are such a number of people who advance theories which are in fact only personal projections ... We can only be suspicious! But what do you think should be aware of the composition of painters?

 

- The first step would be to be open by considering that we do not know everything about the pictorial composition. Admitting that there is still a lot to discover on this subject would already be a decisive step to approach the structure of a work.

The composition stage has been too overlooked by specialists, even flouted by arguing that it is the inspiration, instinct or talent of the artist that do everything. Raphaël had nevertheless written that "everything is in the composition". And with what I update thanks to pictorial archeology, we understand that this "everything" mainly concerns the narration inside the work, the connection, the unfolding of a story with a fixed image .

 

- This part would be for the secret aspect of which you speak?

 

- Yes. Besides, I would let art historians debate it, because it is not my specialty. I cannot afford to say that there was a desire to maintain a secret on the part of the painters. The only observation I make is that neither the painters who wrote, nor the art historians in the past have raised this subject, however decisive.

I only know that over the generations, the teaching of teachers to students was transmitted orally in the shadow of the workshops.

 

- And if there was a secret it would be ...?

 

- ... that the painters used for their compositions of rules and rigorous and precise techniques, simple and complex at the same time. More than rules and techniques, it was in fact a whole conception of art, a way of connecting, of relating in an attempt to tell a story.

 

- You can clarify when you talk about rules, I can't see.

 

- It is possible to draw a parallel with another art that everyone knows: poetry. Poets have invented very strict and restrictive writing rules. The poems are constructed with feet and rhymes. This technique gives them a musicality, a rhythm to embellish their words. This has never prevented their talent from being expressed, it even seems to be the opposite; these rules are a support, a channel for the inspiration of the poet.

The same goes for painters who have invented a set of rigorous and restrictive composition rules. They drew a network of lines which allowed them to ensure an aesthetic, to channel their inspiration and above all to put everything in touch to tell something.

 

- But then you see lines of composition everywhere in the tables?

Guy Mauchamp démonstration des parallèles obliques sur un Luini, musée des Beaux arts de Dijon - Photo Pascal Meyer

- No, no more than you count the feet of the worms when you listen to a poem. You let yourself be carried away by harmony and general sense. It is only by leaning on the analysis of a work, on its composition, that the lines of compositions appear and allow a better understanding.

 

- If you allow, one last question: what motivates you so much in this research?

 

- The fact of understanding and really seeing allows me to better appreciate the beauty of a work. This work invites me to enter into a sensitive relationship with painting, and also in a kind of intimacy with its author. Whether with Raphaël, Léonard de Vinci, Titien, Ingres, or Courbet, when their ideas reappear before my astonished eyes, I have the impression of being by their side, in their workshop.

But the major element that really pushes me in this research is that painters constantly use in their compositions links, relationships between their characters. They put in place a philosophy of bond which means that no character, and even no object is isolated, separated from the rest. Everything is connected, everything depends on the whole and makes sense, as in the universe and quite simply as in our lives.

Seeing these links at work in the paintings reunites me myself and gives a deep meaning to my research.

 

Guy MAUCHAMP

 

Regarding the question of a composition secret in painting, the painter and writer Jacques Villon wrote in 1963:

 

"In the pictorial chaos of these last years, where the exacerbated liberation of the individual instinct reaches the frenzy, to want to recognize the harmonic disciplines which, at all times, secretly served as bases for painting could seem madness.

But this madness is wisdom. Knowledge necessary for those who want to paint. and necessary for whoever wants to watch. The framework of a work is also its most secret - and deepest poetry. "

Y avait-il un secret de composition picturale ?

Le meilleur secret est celui dont on n'a même pas conscience.

Paul Valéry

En fait, la question complète serait :

 "Les peintres, depuis l'Antiquité jusqu'à la période moderne, avaient-ils un secret 

pour composer leurs tableaux ?"

Personnellement je pense qu'il y avait une volonté de tenir secrètes les règles et techniques de composition que je dévoile ici grâce à l'archéologie picturale. Mais ce n'est que mon point de vue, cette question doit être réglée par les historiens de l'art. Je ne suis pas qualifié dans ce domaine pour pouvoir me prononcer légitimement.

 

Pour illustrer les questions et le problème que cela pose, je retranscris ici une conversation que j'ai eu à ce sujet en 2014 avec trois directeurs de musée français dont je tairai les noms.

Conversation avec un directeur de musée

Un directeur de musée :

- J'ai entendu dire que vous présentiez un discours sur la peinture sous forme d'une conférence ?

 

Guy Mauchamp :

- Oui. J'ai monté au printemps 2013 une conférence-spectacle dont le titre est  "L'art secret des peintres" .

 

Directeur

- Tiens, vous dites "L'art secret des peintres"?  Il y aurait un secret des peintres... ça se saurait s'il y avait un secret concernant la peinture, non ? Il y a peut-être encore quelques détails à découvrir, mais dans l'ensemble nous savons déjà beaucoup de choses dans le domaine de l'histoire de la peinture !

 

G. M.

- En fait d'art secret, je parle plus précisément de l'art de la composition picturale. A savoir, comment les peintres organisaient, échafaudaient, structuraient leurs compositions graphiques.

 

- Allons donc, la composition picturale est déjà largement évoquée dans les ouvrages sur la peinture. Et on sait pratiquement tout sur ce sujet non ?

 

- Attention à ne pas confondre les nombreux ouvrages anciens qui traitent des proportions du corps humain, ou de la perspective. Par contre il n'y a rien, aucun ouvrage ancien sur la composition picturale. Elle semble être recouverte par un secret qui en voile les aspects majeurs.

 

- Comme vous y allez ! Un secret de la composition picturale ! Mais enfin, ça se saurait de nos jours s'il y avait eu un secret au sujet de la composition. Avec les moyens modernes d'investigation, les photos aux rayons X, la spectrographie nucléaire, et que sais-je encore, les nombreux spécialistes scientifiques ont déjà vu tout ce qu'il y avait à voir ! Vous avez peut-être l'imagination tout simplement débordante...

 

- Oui, je comprends votre étonnement, mais comme le disait Paul Valéry, "Le meilleur secret est celui dont on n'a même pas conscience". Si les spécialistes n'ont pas conscience de certains modèles à rechercher, ils ne vont tout simplement pas les identifier. Si même ils les voyaient, ils n'iraient pas les répertorier comme des indices à traiter ou comme le départ de nouvelles investigations. C'est le problème du manque de modèle mental qui devient le frein.

 

- Je vous l'accorde. Mais est-ce à dire que vous, vous disposez de nouveaux matériels électroniques complexes qui vous permettraient de voir de nouvelles données scientifiques ?

 

- Non. Bien au contraire ! C'est tout l'inverse, ce que j'observe dans les tableaux sont d'humbles éléments, discrets et parfois minuscules qui, sans être cachés, n'attirent justement pas l'attention car ils ne sont pas vus comme des indices.

 

- Vous m'intriguez. Vous signifiez que vous disposez d'éléments concrets, objectifs, qui établiraient une nouveauté au sujet de la composition picturale ?

- Tout à fait ! Et je dispose de plus d'éléments matériels observables qu'il n'en faut pour poser les bases d'une théorie vérifiable et reproductible. Mon problème est de faire entendre qu'il y a un secret des peintres dont il serait intéressant de prendre conscience.

Guy Mauchamp au Louvre - Photo Meriem Bentahar

- Pour la difficulté à vous faire entendre... ça je le conçois bien. Il y a un tel nombre de personnes qui avancent des théories qui ne sont en fait que des projections personnelles... On ne peut être que méfiant ! Mais que serait selon vous ce dont il faut prendre conscience au sujet de la composition des peintres ?

 

- Le premier pas serait d'être dans l'ouverture en considérant que l'on ne sait pas tout sur la composition picturale. Admettre qu'il reste encore beaucoup à découvrir à ce sujet serait déjà une étape décisive pour aborder la structure d'une œuvre.

L'étape de la composition a été trop ignorée par les spécialistes, voire bafouée en arguant que c'est l'inspiration, l'instinct ou le talent de l'artiste qui font tout. Raphaël avait pourtant bien écrit que "tout est dans la composition". Et avec ce que je mets à jour grâce à l'archéologie picturale, on comprend que ce "tout" concerne principalement la narration à l'intérieur de l'œuvre, la mise en relation, le déroulement d'une histoire avec une image fixe.

 

- Cette partie serait pour l'aspect secret dont vous parlez ?

 

- Oui. D'ailleurs je laisserais les historiens de l'art en débattre, car ce n'est pas ma spécialité. Je n'ai pas les moyens d'affirmer qu'il y avait une volonté de maintenir un secret de la part des peintres. Le seul constat que je fais c'est que ni les peintres qui écrivaient, ni les historiens de l'art dans le passé n'ont évoqué ce sujet pourtant déterminant.

Je sais seulement qu'au fil des générations, l'enseignement de maîtres à élèves se transmettait oralement dans l'ombre des ateliers.

 

- Et s'il y avait un secret ce serait...?

 

- ...que les peintres usaient pour leurs compositions de règles et de techniques rigoureuses et précises, simples et complexes à la fois. Plus que de règles et techniques il s'agissait en fait de toute une conception de l'art, une façon de relier, de mettre en rapport pour essayer de raconter une histoire.

 

- Vous pouvez préciser lorsque vous parlez de règles, je ne vois pas bien.

 

- Il est possible de faire un parallèle avec un autre art que tout le monde connait : la poésie. Les poètes se sont inventé des règles d'écriture très rigoureuses et contraignantes. Les poèmes sont construits avec des pieds et des rimes. Cette technique leur assure une musicalité, un rythme pour embellir leurs propos. Cela n'a jamais empêché leur talent de s'exprimer, il semble même que ce soit le contraire ; ces règles sont un support, un canal pour l'inspiration du poète.

Il en va de même avec les peintres qui se sont inventé un ensemble de règles de composition rigoureuses et contraignantes. Ils traçaient un réseau de lignes qui leur permettait d'assurer une esthétique, de canaliser leur inspiration et surtout de tout mettre en relation pour raconter quelque chose.

 

- Mais alors vous voyez des lignes de composition partout dans les tableaux ?

- Non, pas plus que vous ne comptez les pieds des vers lorsque vous écoutez un poème. Vous vous laissez emporter par l'harmonie et le sens général. Ce n'est qu'en se penchant sur l'analyse d'une œuvre, sur sa composition, que les lignes de compositions apparaissent et permettent de mieux la comprendre.

 

- Si vous permettez, une dernière question : qu'est-ce qui vous motive donc tant dans cette recherche ?

 

- Le fait de comprendre et de vraiment voir me permet de mieux apprécier la beauté d'une œuvre. Ce travail m'invite à rentrer dans une relation sensible avec la peinture, et aussi dans une sorte d'intimité avec son auteur. Que ce soit avec Raphaël, Léonard de Vinci, Titien, Ingres, ou Courbet, lorsque leurs idées réapparaissent devant mes yeux étonnés, j'ai l'impression d'être à leur côté, dans leur atelier.

Mais l'élément majeur qui me pousse vraiment dans cette recherche est que les peintres font sans cesse usage dans leurs compositions de liens, de relations entre leurs personnages. Ils ont mis en place une philosophie du lien qui fait qu'aucun personnage, et même aucun objet n'est isolé, séparé du reste. Tout se tient, tout dépend de l'ensemble et fait du sens, comme dans l'univers et tout simplement comme dans nos vies.

Voir ces liens à l'œuvre dans les tableaux me réunifie moi-même et donne un sens profond à mes recherches.

 

Guy MAUCHAMP

Concernant la question d'un secret de composition dans la peinture, le peintre et écrivain Jacques Villon écrivait en 1963 :

"Dans le chaos pictural de ces dernières années, où la libération exacerbée de l'instinct individuel atteint la frénésie, vouloir reconnaître les disciplines harmoniques qui, à toutes époques, ont servi secrètement de bases à la peinture pourrait sembler une folie.

Mais cette folie est une sagesse. Un savoir nécessaire pour qui veut peindre. et nécessaire pour qui veut regarder. La charpente d'une œuvre, c'est aussi sa poésie la plus secrète - et la plus profonde."