Painting table analysis

Simon VOUET - Portrait of Louis XIII

Here is a painting of an official order from King Louis XIII to his first painter. For Simon Vouet, this involves creating a portrait with the idea of bringing together the kingdoms of France and Navarre with the symbolism of two allegories. But in the midst of so many conveniences, you may be intrigued like me by this curious and improbable royal index which obviously attracts attention. I wondered which fly had bitten the official painter of the king who, in no case, should not disrespect his protector, and must magnify him to establish his image as a monarch.

Analysis Simon VOUET - Portrait Louis XIII the lines of sight on the curious index.

VOUET Simon - Portrait of Louis XIII - 1634 - Louvre - photo gm

The extension of the horizontal line passing through the king's right eye points to the tip of this curious index. Index which is the second point of reference for painters for their composition. Is it Vouet's desire to support a point that remains to be deciphered?

Analysis Simon VOUET - Portrait Louis XIII the lines of sight on the curious index.

The line of sight of the right eye points to the curious royal index.

Let us continue with the lines of gaze of the two women, allegorical symbols of France and Navarre:

Analysis Simon VOUET - Portrait Louis XIII the lines of sight on the curious index. and the regard of France

Looks of the allegory of France

Analysis Simon VOUET - Portrait Louis XIII the lines of sight on the curious index and the regard of Navarre

Plots of the look of the allegory of Navarre plus the angles of 9 ° in blue and 36 ° in yellow of the two women.

For the allegory of France on the left, its horizontal line of sight points to the royal index while its vertical points to the other royal index. Note that the line of gaze of this woman joins up with that of the king on the edge of the frame.

 

For the allegory of Navarre, his gaze points to the left eye of Louis XIII while passing by his thumb.

 

Finally, by tracing the viewing angles (blue at 9 ° and yellow at 36 °), we easily conclude that the two   allegories are in agreement with the king who seems to lead his two kingdoms to the finger and the eye!

 

 

CONGRUENCES WITH OTHER TECHNIQUES

 

½ MEDIUM HARMONIC GRID

This grid traced below in white installs the large masses of the composition: the king in the central point, the two women inclined according to the ½ medians, the curtain which also follows the inclination.

We notice then that the horizontal line of gaze of the king comes to target precisely at the bottom of the frame the point of these half-medians. Traces which seem to indicate that the king takes care of the balance of his power.

 

NARRATIVE LINE OF BÄTON

By extending the line of the stick held by the king, its axis crosses at a point where the looks of the king and Navarre meet.

Analysis portrait of Louis XIII by VOUET, harmonic and oblique grid.

The analysis of this composition does not stop there! You will be able to materialize how France and Navarre are guided by the king, for example by drawing the parallels with the stick and stopping on the points of the first rule: eye, index, thumb, knee, etc ...

 

Work protected by copyright © guymauchampU79J1B9 and a deposit at SGDL Paris

Analyse de tableau de peinture

Simon VOUET - Portrait de Louis XIII

Voici un tableau d'une commande officielle du roi Louis XIII à son premier peintre. Il s'agit pour Simon Vouet de réaliser un portrait ayant pour idée de réunir les royaumes de France et de Navarre avec la symbolique de deux allégories. Mais au beau milieu de tant de convenances, vous êtes peut-être intrigué comme moi par ce curieux et improbable index royal qui attire visiblement l'attention. Je me suis demandé quelle mouche avait piqué le peintre officiel du roi qui, en aucun cas, ne doit manquer de respect à son protecteur, et se doit de le magnifier pour asseoir son image de monarque.

Analyse Simon VOUET - Portrait Louis XIII les lignes de regard sur le curieux index.

VOUET Simon - Portrait de Louis XIII  - 1634 - Louvre - photo gm

Le prolongement de la ligne horizontale passant par l'œil droit du roi vient pointer le bout de ce curieux index. Index qui est le deuxième point de référence des peintres pour leur composition. Est-ce une volonté de Vouet pour appuyer un propos qui reste à déchiffrer ?

Capture d’écran 2019-11-04 à 10.29.38.pn

La ligne de regard de l'œil droit pointe le curieux index royal.

Continuons avec les tracés de regard des deux femmes, symboles allégoriques de la France et de la Navarre :

Capture d’écran 2019-11-04 à 12.10.31.pn

Tracés du regard de l'allégorie de la France

Capture d’écran 2019-11-04 à 14.19.18.pn

Tracés du regard de l'allégorie de la Navarre plus les angles de 9° en bleu et 36° en jaune des deux femmes.

Pour l'allégorie de la France à gauche, sa ligne de regard horizontale pointe l'index royal tandis que sa verticale pointe l'autre index royal. Notons que la ligne de regard de cette femme rejoint en haut celle du roi sur le bord du cadre.

Pour l'allégorie de la Navarre, son regard pointe l'œil gauche de Louis XIII tout en passant par son pouce.

Enfin, en traçant les angles de regards (bleus à 9° et jaune à 36°), on conclue facilement que les deux allégories sont en accord avec le roi qui semble conduire ses deux royaumes au doigt et à l'œil !

CONGRUENCES AVEC D'AUTRES TECHNIQUES

GRILLE HARMONIQUE DES ½ MÉDIANES

Cette grille tracée ci-dessous en blanc installe les grandes masse de la composition : le roi dans la pointe centrale, les deux femmes inclinées selon les ½ médianes, le rideau qui en suit également l'inclinaison.

On remarque alors que la ligne horizontale de regard du roi vient cibler précisément au bas du cadre la pointe de ces demi-médianes.Tracés qui semblent indiquer que le roi veille à l'équilibre de son pouvoir.

LIGNE NARRATIVE DU BÄTON

En prolongeant la ligne du bâton tenu par le roi, son axe croise en un point où se rejoignent les regards du roi et de la Navarre.

Analyse portrait de Louis XIII par VOUET, grille harmonique et oblique.

L'analyse de cette composition ne s'arrête pas là ! Vous pourrez matérialiser comment la France et la Navarre sont guidées par le roi, par exemple en traçant les parallèles au bâton et en vous arrêtant sur les points de la première règle : œil, index, pouce, genou, etc...

Travail protégé par un copyright ©guymauchampU79J1B9 et un dépôt à la SGDL Paris