Painting table analysis

Georges de La Tour - The Ace of Diamonds Cheater

This genre scene inspired by Caravaggio illustrates the moral precepts of the XVII ° century which incited to fight against the scourge of gambling, excessive alcohol and pleasures of the flesh with courtesans. De La Tour realistically seized three characters in the middle of playing cards while the servant served a glass of wine under the courtesan's orders.

De La TOUR - The Cheater with the ace of diamonds - Louvre - photo gm

Georges de La Tour - The Cheater with the ace of diamonds - 1635 - Louvre - Photo Guy Mauchamp

What catches my eye in this group scene is that the characters seem more present in their individual concerns than being in touch with others. It is believed to be facing a group of players united by the pleasure of the card game while other singular events are tied separately. The young man on the right, certainly a wealthy bourgeois in view of his ornate clothes and the number of gold coins, is kept apart from the other three people according to the harmonic grid of the green square. His lost and pensive gaze seems to reveal a feeling of confusion in the face of the intrigues of the three characters.

De La Tour - Le Tricheur - the young bourgeois sidelined by the square grid

De La Tour - Le Tricheur - the wealthy young bourgeois is sidelined from the three characters with the grid of the green square.

On the other hand, the composition grid of the blue square links the young man, the courtesan and the maid on a diagonal through three points of the first rule (blue circles) and puts the cheater aside. The latter seems to divert attention with his mocking look so that his act of cheating goes unnoticed.

Note the feather duster of the servant who is placed as a marker on the diagonal of the blue square.

De La Tour, Le Tricheur, the harmonic grid of the blue square

De La Tour - The Cheater - The blue square links the three characters on the right diagonally and isolates the cheater.

The crossing in the center of the two squares highlights the link between the courtesan and the servant. They seem to be colluding but we wonder who is intended for this unique glass of wine when there are two guests?

De La Tour - The Cheater - the composition isolates the two men

De La Tour - Le Tricheur - With the bond of the two squares the men are isolated while the two women seem to be in bond.

Below, the golden composition grid (in yellow) points to the cheater's index finger and above all it connects the noses of the three players. The nose in the reference points of the first rule of composition can take on several symbolic aspects. Is it a question of flair to guess the intentions of each? We saw on the "iconography of drunkenness" page that the wine cup contains interesting clues to be revealed thanks to pictorial archeology.

De La Tour - Le Tricheur - The golden composition grid

De La Tour - Le Chicheur - The golden grid links the noses of the three players.

Below, the iconography of drunkenness shows that the wine tilted in the glass (extended in pink) points to two decks of cards, the gold coins and the pearl necklace which is an attribute of the courtesans. The axis of this glass points to the fourth nose, that of the servant. The three plagues are therefore united in this composition, alcohol, gambling and lust. These elements are centered around the courtesan who seems to direct the situation by her gesture with her right hand to offer the wine to the cheater. But is this the case?

De La Tour, Le Tricheur, the tilted wine

De La Tour - Le Tricheur - The tilted wine connects the three plagues: alcohol, gambling and lust with the courtesan's necklace.

Below, the courtesan's line of sight (in red) rests on the golden grid at the edge of the format (red arrow). It seems that the intuition of the courtesan dictates to him that the old man would be a cheater who wants money from the young bourgeois, while she herself would also like to take the young man's gold coins but in using her feminine strengths.

De La Tour - Le Tricheur - the tilted wine rests on the golden grid

De La Tour - Le Tricheur - The courtesan's right eye line points to the golden grid on the format.

Let's check this interpretation with the courtesan's lines of sight:

Below, the courtesan points at 36 ° (in yellow) the servant's eye and her thumb (her will). The cheater's nose is again pointed by a 9 ° look (in light blue) while she suspects the index finger of the hand holding the ace of diamonds with a look at 30 ° (in green). It seems that the courtesan is aware that the man is trying to swindle the rich young man, which is why she firmly orders the maid to intoxicate the cheater in order to minimize her abilities.

De La Tour - Le Tricheur - Les regards d

De La Tour - Le Tricheur - The Courtesan's Looks.

But what about the young bourgeois? It is often described as a sort of inexperienced fool, an easy prey for the two predators facing it.

Below, the young man's gaze (in red) arises like that of the courtesan on the golden grid at the edge of the format (red arrow). All the angles of this man's gaze show that he is fully aware of the game in front of him: wine was used only for cheating, money, card games, the gesture of hidden cheating, nothing seems escape him.

De La Tour - Le Tricheur - Les regards du jeune homme.

De La Tour - Le Tricheur - The young man's 9 ° viewing angles; 18 ° and 36 ° on the servant and the wine, the money and the hidden cheating gesture of the cheater.

There would be many other lines of composition to reveal with this scene full of intrigue of society. For example, other composition grids have been demonstrated on the "harmonic grids" page.

But for now, I prefer to stay on this demonstration and would like to know how you interpret it on your side.

Do not hesitate to leave your comment, your questions at the bottom of the page, my pleasure is to be able to exchange with you on the pictorial composition. Thank you.

Guy MAUCHAMP

Analyse de tableau de peinture

Georges de La Tour - Le Tricheur à l'as de carreau

Cette scène de genre inspirée de Caravage illustre les préceptes moraux du XVII° siècle qui incitaient de lutter contre le fléau des jeux d'argent, des excès d'alcool et des plaisirs de la chair avec les courtisanes. Avec réalisme, de La Tour saisit trois personnages en pleine partie de cartes alors que la servante sert un verre vin sous l'ordre de la courtisane.

De La TOUR - Le Tricheur à l'as de carreau - Louvre - photo gm

Georges de La Tour - Le Tricheur à l'as de carreau -  1635 - Louvre - Photo Guy Mauchamp

Ce qui retient mon regard dans cette scène de groupe est que les personnages semblent plus présents à leurs préoccupations individuelles que d'être en lien avec les autres. On croit être face à un groupe de joueurs unis par le plaisir du jeu de cartes alors que d'autres événements singuliers se nouent séparément. Le jeune homme de droite, certainement un riche bourgeois aux vues de ses habits ornés et du nombre de pièces d'or, est  mis à l'écart des trois autres personnes selon la grille harmonique du carré vert. Son regard perdu et songeur semble révéler un sentiment de trouble face aux intrigues des trois personnages.

De La Tour - Le Tricheur - le jeune bourg

De La Tour - Le Tricheur - le jeune riche bourgeois est mis à l'écart des trois personnages avec la grille du carré vert.

Par contre, la grille de composition du carré bleu met en lien sur une diagonale le jeune homme, la courtisane et la servante à travers trois points de la première règle (ronds bleus) et met à l'écart le tricheur. Ce dernier semble détourner l'attention par son regard goguenard pour que son geste de tricherie passe inaperçu.

Remarquons le plumeau de la servante qui est posé comme un marqueur sur la diagonale du carré bleu.

De La Tour, Le Tricheur, le carré bleu

De La Tour - Le Tricheur - Le carré bleu met en lien par la diagonale les trois personnages de droite et isole le tricheur.

Le croisement au centre des deux carrés fait ressortir le lien entre la courtisane et la servante. Elles semblent être de connivence mais on se demande à qui est destiné cet unique verre de vin alors qu'il y a deux hôtes ?

De_La_Tour,_Le_Tricheur,_la_composition_

De La Tour - Le Tricheur - Avec le lien des deux carrés les hommes sont isolés alors que les deux femmes semblent être en lien.

Ci- dessous, la grille dorée de composition (en jaune) pointe l'index du tricheur et elle relie surtout les nez des trois joueurs. Le nez dans les points de référence de la première règle de composition peut revêtir plusieurs aspects symboliques. Est-il question de flair pour deviner les intentions de chacun ? Nous avions vu à la page "iconographie de l'ivresse" que la coupe de vin recèle des indices intéressants à révéler grâce à l'archéologie picturale.

De_La_Tour,_Le_Tricheur,_la_grille_doré

De La Tour -  Le Tricheur - La grille dorée met en lien les nez des trois joueurs.

Ci-dessous, l'iconographie de l'ivresse montre que le vin incliné dans le verre (prolongé en rose) pointe deux jeux de cartes, les pièces d'or et le collier de perles qui est un attribut des courtisanes. L'axe de ce verre pointe le quatrième nez, celui de la servante. Les trois fléaux sont donc réunis dans cette composition, l'alcool, le jeu d'argent et la luxure. Ces éléments sont centrés autour de la courtisane qui semble diriger la situation par son geste de sa main droite pour offrir le vin au tricheur. Mais est-ce bien le cas ?

De La Tour, Le Tricheur, le vin incliné

De La Tour - Le Tricheur - Le vin incliné relie les trois fléaux : l'alcool, le jeu d'argent et la luxure avec le collier de la courtisane.

Ci-dessous, la ligne de regard de la courtisane (en rouge) s'appuie sur la grille dorée au bord du format (flèche rouge). Il semble que l'intuition de la courtisane lui dicte que l'homme agé serait un tricheur qui en veut à l'argent du jeune bourgeois, alors qu'elle même souhaiterait aussi s'attribuer les pièces d'or du jeune homme mais en usant de ses atouts féminins.

De La Tour - Le Tricheur - le vin incliné

De La Tour - Le Tricheur - La ligne de regard de l'œil droit de la courtisane pointe la grille dorée sur le format.

Vérifions cette interprétation avec les lignes de regard de la courtisane :

Ci-dessous, la courtisane pointe à 36° (en jaune) l'œil de la servante et son pouce (sa volonté). Le nez du tricheur est à nouveau pointé par un regard à 9° ( en bleu clair) alors qu'elle soupçonne l'index de la main tenant l'as de carreau avec un regard à 30° (en vert). Il semble bien que la courtisane ait conscience que l'homme tente d’escroquer le jeune homme riche, c'est pourquoi elle commande fermement à la servante d'enivrer le tricheur afin de minimiser ses capacités.

De La Tour - Le Tricheur - Les regards d

De La Tour - Le Tricheur - Les angles de regard de la courtisane.

Mais qu'en est-il du jeune bourgeois ? Il est souvent décrit comme une sorte de benêt inexpérimenté, une proie facile pour les deux prédateurs qui lui font face.

Ci-dessous, le regard du jeune homme (en rouge) se pose comme celui de la courtisane sur la grille dorée au bord du format (flèche rouge). Tous les angles de regard de cet homme montrent qu'il est tout à fait conscient du jeu qui se trame devant lui : le vin servit uniquement au tricheur, l'argent, les jeux de cartes, le geste de tricherie cachée, rien ne semble lui échapper.

De La Tour - Le Tricheur - Les regards du jeune homme.

De La Tour - Le Tricheur - Les angles de regard du jeune homme à 9°; 18° et 36° sur la servante et le vin, l'argent et le geste de tricherie cachée du tricheur.

Il y aurait bien d'autres tracés de composition à révéler avec cette scène pleine d'intrigues de société. Par exemple, d'autres grilles de composition ont été démontrées dans la page des "grilles harmoniques".

Mais pour l'instant, je préfère rester sur cette démonstration et aimerait savoir comment vous l'interprétez de votre côté.

N'hésitez pas à laisser votre commentaire, vos questions en pied de page, mon plaisir est de pouvoir échanger avec vous sur la composition picturale. Merci.

Guy MAUCHAMP