0 Guy Dresden copie.jpg

At the Dresden museum, in front of Del Cossa's painting with his big snail which made me drool for many weeks!

zebre.jpg

My studies

As a student at the National School of Fine Arts in Dijon, I learned nothing in pictorial composition, simply because ... there were no art history courses (true!). By cons by practicing painting, I was faced with the problem of any painter: where to start, how to compose and realize an idea? Again, my teachers did not show me any solid leads on the subject of composition.

 

My professional activity

was rather turned towards audio-visual: shots, editing and TV production of short films, documentaries and reports.

 

My discovery

Much later, I became interested in prints from the 17th century. Surprised by their composition, I had the curiosity to put my rule on the cane of a character to extend it by a stroke. What was not my surprise: this line pointed to the eye of another character when it was not obvious. I rested my rule on a sword and ... identical second surprise!

Without knowing it, I discovered a basis for pictorial composition: connecting elements beyond the visible.

It was in May 1993. I had just put my finger in an immense gear which, for years of obstinacy and passion, was going to plunge me into a study as poetic as scientific.

 

My research

My first years were those of subjectivity and intuition. Then came the need for scientific objectivity, supported by the methods of archaeologists with computer databases. A researcher friend and math teacher exclaimed when he saw my work " but, you do pictorial archeology! "

 

my motivations

It was in 2015 that I understood my real motivation for my research: relationships! That is to say, to highlight in a table the invisible links between the characters that the painters tirelessly linked. They linked everything, the characters to each other, the animals, the objects and even the decor, as long as it remained congruent with the theme of the painting.

I admire and envy this school of relationships that was passed from teacher to student in the intimacy of painting workshops.

 

A conviction

My works will certainly find it difficult to be recognized by the official harem of art. There are three reasons for this. Reasons from studies on the recognition of the value of a person: the simultaneity of

  • enthronement by well-known personalities (a research master in faculty)

  • An official place which consecrates the words of famous personalities (a faculty, a museum)

  • A crowd of people who listen to the message of famous personalities in the dedicated place.

However, I do not benefit from any of these three elements of recognition.

Add to that that I am a solitary self-taught man without a diploma ...

 

For my readers

This observation does not detract from the pleasure I have in discovering the rules of composition of painters. My great satisfaction is to find certain gestures of composition of the masters of the renaissance. My great joy is to discover on wooden panels or on canvases material traces which confirm my theory of these hidden gestures of composition.

 

The feeling of being in the intimacy of the creation of a great painter is a moving experience that I want to share through this site. I wish you a joyful discovery and beautiful emotions.

 

Guy MAUCHAMP

Au musée de Dresden, devant le tableau de Del Cossa avec son gros escargot qui m'en a fait baver pendant de longues semaines !

Mes études

Élève à l'École Nationale des Beaux-arts de Dijon  je n'ai rien appris en composition picturale, tout simplement parce que… il n'y avait pas de cours d'histoire de l'art (véridique !). Par contre en pratiquant la peinture, j'ai été confronté au problème de tout peintre : par où commencer, comment composer et réaliser une idée ? Là encore, mes profs ne m'ont indiqué aucune piste solide au sujet de la composition.

 

Mon activité professionnelle

a été plutôt tournée vers l'audio-visuel : prises de vues, montage et réalisation TV de courts métrages, documentaires et reportages.

 

Ma découverte

Bien plus tard, je me suis intéressé à des estampes du XVII° siècle. Surpris par leur composition, j'ai eu la curiosité de poser ma règle sur la canne d'un personnage pour la prolonger d'un trait. Quelle ne fut pas ma surprise: cette ligne pointait l'œil d'un autre personnage alors que cela n'était pas évident. Je reposais ma règle sur une épée et… deuxième surprise à l'identique !

Je découvrais sans le savoir une base de la composition picturale : relier des éléments au delà du visible.

C’était en mai 1993. Je venais de mettre le doigt dans un immense engrenage qui, pour des années d’opiniâtreté et de passion, allait me plonger dans une étude autant poétique que scientifique.

 

Mes recherches

Mes premières années ont été celles de la subjectivité et de l'intuition. Puis m'est venu la nécessité d’une objectivité scientifique, soutenue par les méthodes des archéologues avec des bases de données sur ordinateur. Un ami chercheur et prof en fac de maths s'est exclamé en voyant mon travail "mais, tu fais de l'archéologie picturale ! "

 

Mes motivations

C'est en 2015 que j'ai compris ma motivation réelle pour mes recherches : les relations ! C'est-à-dire, mettre en lumière dans un tableau les liens invisibles entre les personnages que les peintres reliaient inlassablement. Ils reliaient tout, les personnages entre eux, les animaux, les objets et même le décor, tant que cela restait congruent avec le thème du tableau.

Je suis admiratif et envieux de cette école de la relation qui se transmettait de maître à élève dans l'intimité des ateliers de peinture.

 

Une conviction

Mes travaux auront certainement du mal à être reconnus par le sérail officiel de l'art . Il y aurait trois raisons à cela. Raisons tirées d'études sur la reconnaissance de la valeur d'une personne : il faut la simultanéité de 

  • l'intronisation par des personnalités connues (un maître de recherche en faculté)

  • Un lieu officiel qui consacre la parole des personnalités connues (une faculté, un musée)

  • Une foule de personnes qui écoute le message des personnalités connues dans le lieu consacré.

Or je ne bénéficie d'aucun de ces trois éléments de reconnaissance.

Ajoutez à cela que je suis autodidacte solitaire et sans diplôme…

 

Pour mes lecteurs

Ce constat n'enlève rien au plaisir que j'ai à découvrir les règles de composition des peintres. Ma grande satisfaction est de retrouver certains gestes de composition des maîtres de la renaissance et par là leur philosophie. Ma grande joie est de découvrir sur des panneaux de bois ou sur des toiles des traces matérielles qui confirment ma théorie de ces gestes cachés de composition.

 

La sensation d'être dans l'intimité de la création d'un grand peintre est une expérience émouvante que je souhaite partager par le biais de ce site. Je vous souhaite une joyeuse découverte et de belles émotions.

 

Guy MAUCHAMP