ICONOGRAPHY OF DRUNKENNESSE

The use of the first rule of composition allowed me to discover an iconographic game as fun as uplifting:

 

the wine in the glasses is often painted tilted, and not horizontal as the law of gravity would like.

 

Many paintings   attest to the tradition of an iconography of drunkenness.

The inclined surface of the wine when extended in a line to the edge of the format often reveals a composition desired by the painter in order to deliver a message. There are three subjects:

- social scenes

- love scenes

- religious scenes .

 

Ter Borch, Young couple, the wine is tilted in the glass and points to the man's index finger.

Gérard Ter BORCH - Young couple with wine (detail) - 1663 - Gemäldegalerie Berlin - photo plots © gm - The white wine is strongly tilted and its extended red line points to the human index.

Capture d’écran 2020-01-16 à 09.04.20.pn

The horizontal green line measures the 10 ° tilt of the wine in the glass.

In this scene of romantic seduction, the woman seems to be sensitive to the charm of the man, to the point of losing perhaps her discernment which would allow her to really appreciate the situation. She holds her glass of wine tilted and according to the law of gravity, the surface of the wine should remain horizontal. However the wine is strongly tilted with an angle of 10 °. This subterfuge, see this cheating, acts as a kind of visual metaphor, a language created by painters to speak of altered states of consciousness. Here, by the line of the surface of the wine which extends on the index finger of the man we understand that this one would have dishonest intentions towards the young woman whose judgment seems to be lost in alcohol .

Social drunkennesse with Georges de La Tour

It was while working in 2013 on the well-known work of Georges de La Tour's "Cheat ace of diamonds" that I began my investigations into the subject of drunkenness in paintings.

This genre scene inspired by Caravaggio illustrates the moral precepts of the XVII ° century which incited to fight against the scourge of gambling, excessive alcohol and pleasures of the flesh with courtesans.

De La Tour realistically seized three characters in the middle of a card game as well as the servant who served them in wine.

 

I invite you to observe what is happening around the glass of wine held by the servant.

DELATOUR, Le tricheur à l'as de carreau, Louvre, photo gm.

Georges de La TOUR - the cheat with the ace of diamonds - 1635 - Louvre - Photo gm

A whole set of hands and looks unfolds in this scene of lust, suspicion and cheating. It is clearly around the glass of wine that the hands of the cheater, the maid and the courtesan activate and brush against each other, as if as a prelude to sharing the rich young man's gold. The sight of this glass of wine is so disturbed that a detail can escape the usual perception. Indeed, the movements of hands and the eyes monopolize the attention in order to prevent seeing a sort of less visible cheating.

To see this cheating, you have to detail the glass of wine and help yourself by tracing the medians of the format.

De La TOUR - the Cheater - the wine is tilted and points to the necklace and the card game.

Traces of the extension of the surface of the wine in red and the axis of the glass of wine.

WHAT HAPPENS AROUND THE GLASS OF WINE HELD BY THE SERVANT?

By extending the axis of the glass and the inclined surface of the wine, we notice that the wine is not horizontal but inclined at 4 °, and it points to the pearl necklace and the deck of cards. The vertical axis of the glass, meanwhile, points to the gold coins and the servant's nose.

De La Tour, Le Tricheur, the tilted wine is parallel to the eyes of the courtesan.

Le vin incliné à 4° est parallèle au regard de la courtisane, lui aussi incliné à 4°. Celle-ci regarde la bouche de la servante et le nez du tricheur (en bleu à 9° et 18° selon les angles préférentiels) .

LINK OF INCLINED WINE WITH REGARDS TECHNIQUE:

If we refer, above, to the parallelism between the line of the wine and the gaze of the courtesan, the latter's intention seems clear to intoxicate the cheater in order to put his lucidity to sleep and thus monopolize the rich young man's money. by sucking on its feminine strengths to arouse the desire for it. To show this, de La Tour directs the courtesan's gaze on the courtesan who must not say a word about her mistress' project, as well as on the cheater's nose who must take a blow in the nose , according to popular expression.

 

VERIFICATION

For the sake of rigor   scientist let's check if these two lines - that of the tilted wine and that of the courtesan's gaze - are not an illusion to want to put on Cinderella's shoe to a beautiful theory.

Delatour, the cheater, the tilted glass of wine linked to the golden composition grid

The courtesan's gaze , parallel to the wine, is placed on the golden harmonic grid (in yellow) on the edge of the format (red arrow on the right)

The red arrow above, on the right, shows that the courtesan's gaze rests on the golden harmonic grid on the edge of the format. The points of the 1st rule of composition conditioned by this grid are the noses of the three protagonists. The fourth pointed nose, that of the servant, is related to the glass of wine.

The composition created by de La Tour shows a link between the wine that points to money and the game, the three vices, and three noses: the servant's intuitive nose which understands the intention of her mistress ( she has a nose ), the cheater's nose ( having a blow to the nose ) of the cheater, and the nose linked to a symbol of sexuality for the courtesan and her future client.

Social drunkenness with Wouter

Wouter Crabeth II is a Dutch painter trained in France and Rome who excelled in caravaggesque genre scenes. Many of his contemporaries and himself have used the iconography of tilted alcohol in tavern scenes.

WOUTER Crabeth II - Cheaters - 1530 - Berlin - photo gm Inclined beer lines (in red) and harmonic grids of the medians and ½ medians.

WOUTER Crabeth II - The Cheaters - 1530 - Gemäldegalerie Berlin - photo guymauchamp

The tilted beer lines (in red) and the harmonic grids of the medians and ½ medians.

The composition soberly shows, if I can say, the use of tilted wine and two harmonic grids: the wine (or beer?) Is tilted by pointing the mouth of the servant, the little finger and the thumb of the man in black, the deck of cards and the median and half- median grids . These two harmonic grids installed the eyes of the four players and the card game on the table. This provision confirms the relationship between alcohol and card game cheating.

Drunkenness in love with Vermeer

In this Vermeer below, the discreet inclination of the wine (red line) joins on the edge of the format the golden composition grid Phi (in yellow), grid which served as support for the first composition rule by positioning, for the connect, the nose and the eye of the man and the open mouth of the young woman.

Vermeer, Young girl with an inclined glass of wine, this inclination of the wine is conditioned by the golden grid of composition

VERMEER - Young Girl with Glass of Wine (detail) - 1660 -

The wine tilted in the glass indicates an extended line (in red) which points to the eye of the sleeping man and joins on the left on the edge of the format, the golden grid of composition.

This extended line of wine in connection with a harmonic grid congruent with the subject of the painting shows the link between a representation of drunkenness related to the theme of the painting. These lines are a striking shortcut that illustrates the selfish and devious intention that the man carries to the young woman by means of alcohol.

Drunkenness in love with Rembrandt

Rembrandt Saskia, 1635, Dresden, Googgle Art Project

REMBRANDT - Portrait Rembrandt and Saskia - 1635 - Dresden - GoogleArtProject

In this pleasant intimate scene, Rembrandt raises his glass as if to toast with the spectator, and it is easy to see the surface of the beer tilted. The extended line of this beer sits at the edge of the format on the harmonic grid of the earth square. Rembrandt's soul lines (in purple) point at 30 ° (in green) the same corner of the earth square, at 19 ° the soul of his wife Saskia, and at 45 ° (orange) and 36 ° (yellow ) both inches.

REMBRANDT and Saskia, the beer line joins the square earth format

Rembrandt brandishes a tilted glass of beer (in purple) which points to the grid of the earth square on the format

Rembrandt and Saskia, soul lines pointing to the tilted beer and the earth square.

Rembrandt's soul lines that point to the earth square and the tilted beer format.

These lines support the feeling of intoxicating love that not only provides beer, but above all the tender relationship of soul to soul that Rembrandt maintains with his wife.

Spiritual drunkennesse with Crivelli

The discovery of this work was a great moment of shared joy: while we were visiting the Gemäldegalerie in Berlin with my family, my son Colin came running to me, asking me to come quickly to see a painting where "there is wine tilted ! ". My excitement was at its height because it was the first time that I discovered a religious scene using this iconographic process of " tilted alcohol " - moreover, with a monumental painting by Crivelli produced with extreme care .

Carlo CRIVELLI, Mary Jesus and apostles, 1480, Berlin, photo gm

Carlo CRIVELLI - Marie Jésus et apôtres - 1480 - Gemäldegalerie Berlin - Photo guy mauchamp -

Attracted by our agitation, a guardian of the museum approaches, curious to see so much enthusiasm. I show her, using a string, that the wine is tilted so as to point the precious stone further on the forehead of Jesus, a stone which is the same color as the wine (drawn in orange below ). Our joy is then shared with pleasure by the guardian, illustrating through experience a little of what can be a spiritual intoxication !

CRIVELLI, the tilted wine points to the stone on Jesus' forehead, and the corner of the format

CRIVELLI - The tilted wine, extended in orange, points to the stone on the forehead of Jesus. The chalice axis points to the right corner of the table format.

The golden harmonic grid positions the lid of the wine chalice and three points of the 1st rule: the point of the soul of Jesus on his forehead, a stigma on the hand of Saint Francis, and the finger of a monk. This golden grid also conditions the location of the characters and the decor.

Iconographic anthology of tilted wine

Do not hesitate to leave your comment, your questions at the bottom of the page, my pleasure is to be able to exchange with you on the pictorial composition. Thank you.

 

Guy MAUCHAMP

ICONOGRAPHIE DE L'IVRESSE

L'usage de la première règle de composition m'a permis de découvrir un jeu iconographique aussi amusant qu'édifiant :

le vin dans les verres est souvent peint incliné, et non horizontal comme le voudrait la loi de gravité.

 

De nombreux tableaux attestent de la tradition d'une iconographie de l'ivresse. 

La surface inclinée du vin une fois prolongée en une ligne jusqu'au bord du format révèle souvent une composition voulue par le peintre afin de délivrer un message. Il existe trois sujets :

- les scènes sociales

- les scènes amoureuses

- les scènes religieuses.

Ter Borch, Jeune couple, le vin est incliné dans le verre et pointe l'index de l'homme.

Gérard Ter BORCH - Jeune couple au vin (détail) - 1663 - Berlin - photo tracés©gm - Le vin blanc est fortement incliné et sa ligne prolongée en rouge pointe l'index de l'homme.

La ligne verte horizontale permet de mesurer l'inclinaison de 10° du vin dans le  verre.

Dans cette scène de séduction amoureuse, la femme semble être sensible au charme de l'homme, jusqu'à en perdre peut être son discernement qui lui permettrait de réellement apprécier la situation. Elle tient son verre de vin incliné et selon la loi de gravité, la surface du vin devrait rester horizontale. Or le vin est fortement incliné avec un angle de 10°. Ce subterfuge, voir cette tricherie, agit comme une sorte de métaphore visuelle, un langage créé par les peintres pour parler d'états de conscience modifiés. Ici, par la ligne de la surface du vin qui se prolonge sur l'index de l'homme on comprend que celui-ci aurait des intentions malhonnêtes vis-à-vis de la jeune femme dont le jugement semble être perdu dans l'alcool.

L'ivresse sociale avec Georges de La Tour

C'est en travaillant en 2013 sur l'œuvre très connue du "Tricheur à l'as de carreau" de Georges de La Tour que j'ai débuté mes investigations au sujet de l'ivresse dans les tableaux.

Cette scène de genre inspirée de Caravage illustre les préceptes moraux du XVII° siècle qui incitaient de lutter contre le fléau des jeux d'argent, des excès d'alcool et des plaisirs de la chair avec les courtisanes.

Avec réalisme, de La Tour saisit trois personnages en pleine partie de cartes ainsi que la servante qui les sert en vin.

 

Je vous propose justement d'observer ce qu'il se passe autour du verre de vin tenu par la servante.

DELATOUR, Le tricheur à l'as de carreau, Louvre, photo gm.

Georges de La TOUR - le tricheur à l'as de carreau - 1635 - Louvre - Photo gm

Tout un jeu de mains et de regards se déploie dans cette scène de convoitise, de suspicion et de tricherie. C'est manifestement autour du verre de vin que les mains du tricheur, de la servante et de la courtisane s'activent et se frôlent, comme en prélude au partage de l'or du riche jeune homme. La vue de ce verre de vin en est troublée au point qu'un détail peut échapper à la perception habituelle. En effet, les mouvements de mains et les regards monopolisent l'attention afin d'empêcher de voir une sorte de tricherie moins visible.

Pour voir cette tricherie, il faut détailler le verre de vin et s'aider en traçant les médianes du format.

De La TOUR - le Tricheur - le vin est incliné et pointe le collier et le jeu de carte.

Tracés du prolongement de la surface du vin en rouge et de l'axe du verre de vin.

QUE SE PASSE-T-IL AUTOUR DU VERRE DE VIN TENU PAR LA SERVANTE ?

En prolongeant l'axe du verre et la surface inclinée du vin, on remarque que le vin n'est pas à l'horizontale mais incliné à 4°, et il pointe le collier de perles et le jeu de cartes. L'axe vertical du verre, quant à lui, pointe les pièces d'or et le nez de la servante.

De La Tour, Le Tricheur, le vin incliné est parallèle au regard de la courtisanne.

Le vin incliné à 4° est parallèle au regard de la courtisane, lui aussi incliné à 4°. Celle-ci regarde la bouche de la servante et le nez du tricheur (en bleu à 9° et 18° selon les angles préférentiels) .

LIEN DU VIN INCLINÉ AVEC LA TECHNIQUE DES REGARDS :

Si on se réfère, ci-dessus, au parallèlisme entre la ligne du vin et du regard de la courtisane, l'intention de celle-ci semble claire d'enivrer le tricheur afin d'endormir sa lucidité et s'accaparer ainsi l'argent du jeune homme riche. en suçant de ses atouts féminins pour susciter le désir de celui-ci. Pour montrer cela,de La Tour dirige le regard de la courtisane sur la courtisane qui ne doit dire mot du projet de sa maîtresse, ainsi que sur le nez du tricheur qui doit en prendre un coup dans le nez, selon l'expression populaire.

VÉRIFICATION

Par soucis de rigueur scientifique vérifions si ces deux lignes - celle du vin incliné et celle du regard de la courtisane - ne sont pas une illusion à vouloir enfiler la chaussure de Cendrillon à une belle théorie.

Delatour, le tricheur, le verre de vin incliné en lien avec la grille dorée de composition

Le regard de la courtisane, parallèle au vin, est posé sur la grille harmonique dorée (en jaune) sur le bord du format (flèche rouge à droite)

La flèche rouge ci-dessus, à droite, montre que le regard de la courtisane s'appuie sur la grille harmonique dorée sur le bord du format. Les points de la 1re règle de composition conditionné par cette grille sont les nez des trois protagonistes. Le quatrième nez pointé, celui de la servante, est en relation avec le verre de vin. 

La composition créée par de La Tour montre un lien entre le vin qui pointe l'argent et le jeu, soit les trois vices, et trois nez : le nez intuitif de la servante qui comprend l'intention de sa maîtresse (elle a du nez) , le nez du tricheur (en avoir un coup dans le nez) du tricheur, et le nez lié à un symbole de la sexualité pour la courtisane et son futur client.

L'ivresse sociale avec Wouter

Wouter Crabeth II est un peintre néerlandais formé en France et à Rome qui excellait dans les scènes de genre d'inspiration caravagesque. Ses contemporains et lui-même ont été nombreux à utiliser l'iconographie de l'alcool incliné dans les scènes de tavernes.

WOUTER Crabeth II - Les tricheurs - 1530 - Berlin - photo gm Lignes de la bière inclinée (en rouge) et grilles harmoniques des médianes et ½ médianes.

WOUTER Crabeth II - Les Tricheurs - 1530 - Gemäldegalerie Berlin - photo guymauchamp

Les lignes de la bière inclinée (en rouge) et les grilles harmoniques des médianes et ½ médianes.

La composition montre avec sobriété, si je peux dire, l'usage du vin incliné et de deux grilles harmoniques : le vin (ou la bière ?) est incliné en pointant la bouche du serviteur, l'auriculaire et le pouce de l'homme en noir, le jeu de cartes et les grilles des médianes et demi-médianes. Ces deux grilles harmoniques ont installé les yeux des quatre joueurs et le jeu de carte sur la table. Cette disposition confirme la relation entre l'alcool et la tricherie au jeu de cartes. 

L'ivresse Amoureuse avec Vermeer

Dans ce Vermeer ci-dessous, la discrète inclinaison du vin (ligne rouge) rejoint sur le bord du format la grille de composition dorée Phi (en jaune), grille qui a servi de support à la première règle de composition en positionnant, pour les relier, le nez et l'œil de l'homme et la bouche ouverte de la jeune femme.

Vermeer, Jeune fille au verre de vin incliné, cette inclinaison du vin est conditonné par la grille dorée de composition

VERMEER - Jeune Fille au verre de vin (détail) - 1660 - 

Le vin incliné dans le verre indique une ligne prolongée (en rouge) qui pointe l'œil de l'homme assoupi et rejoint à gauche sur le bord du format, la grille dorée de composition. 

Cette ligne prolongée du vin en lien avec une grille harmonique congruente avec le sujet du tableau montre le lien entre une représentation de l'ivresse reliée au thème du tableau. Ces tracés sont un raccourci saisissant qui illustre l'intention intéressée et sournoise que l'homme porte à la jeune femme par le moyen de l'alcool.

L'ivresse Amoureuse avec Rembrandt

Rembrandt Saskia, 1635, Dresden, Googgle Art Project

REMBRANDT - Portrait Rembrandt et Saskia - 1635 - Dresden - GoogleArtProject

Dans cette plaisante scène intime, Rembrandt lève son verre comme pour trinquer avec le spectateur, et il est aisé de voir la surface de la bière est inclinée. La ligne prolongée de cette bière vient se caler au bord du format sur la grille harmonique du carré terre. Les lignes de l'âme de Rembrandt (en violet) pointent à 30° (en vert) le même coin du carré terre, à 19° l'âme de sa femme Saskia, et à 45° (orange) et 36° (jaune) les deux pouces.

REMBRANDT et Saskia, la ligne de la bierre rejoint sur le format le carré terre

Rembrandt brandit un verre de bière inclinée (en violet) qui pointe la grille du carré terre sur le format

Rembrandt et Saskia, lignes de l'âme pointant la bierre inclinée et le carré terre.

Lignes de l'âme de Rembrandt qui pointent sur le format le carré terre et la bière inclinée.

Ces tracés appuient la sensation d'ivresse amoureuse que procure non seulement la bière, mais surtout la tendre relation d'âme à âme que Rembrandt entretient avec son épouse.

L'ivresse spirituelle avec Crivelli

La découverte de cette œuvre a été un grand moment de joie partagée : alors que nous visitions en famille la Gemäldegalerie de Berlin, mon fils Colin accourt vers moi en me priant de venir au plus vite voir un tableau où "il y a du vin incliné !". Mon excitation était à son comble car c'était la première fois que je découvrais une scène religieuse utilisant cette procédé iconographique de "l'alcool incliné"- de plus, avec un tableau monumental de Crivelli réalisé avec un soin extrême.

Carlo CRIVELLI - Marie Jésus et apôtres - 1480 - Gemäldegalerie Berlin - Photo guy mauchamp -

Attirée par notre agitation, une gardienne du musée s'approche, curieuse de voir autant d'enthousiasme. Je lui montre, à l'aide d'une ficelle, que le vin est incliné de façon à pointer plus loin la pierre précieuse sur le front de Jésus, pierre qui est de la même couleur que le vin (tracé en orange ci-dessous). Notre joie est alors partagée avec plaisir par la gardienne, illustrant par le vécu un peu de ce que peut être une ivresse spirituelle !

CRIVELLI, le vin incliné pointe la pierre sur le front de Jésus, et le coin du format

CRIVELLI - Le vin incliné prolongé en orange pointe la pierre sur le front de Jésus. L'axe du calice pointe l'angle de droite du format du tableau.

La grille harmonique dorée positionne le couvercle du calice de vin et trois points de la 1re règle : le point de l'âme de Jésus sur son front, un stigmate sur la main de Saint François, et le doigt d'un moine. Cette grille dorée conditionne aussi l'emplacement des personnages et du décor.

Florilège iconographique du vin incliné

N'hésitez pas à laisser votre commentaire, vos questions en pied de page, mon plaisir est de pouvoir échanger avec vous sur la composition picturale. Merci.

Guy MAUCHAMP