Iconography of drunkenness

Mystical drunkennesse with Caravaggio

The Bacchus of Caravaggio shows a great mastery of composition and light. But not only, because he also slipped mysterious elements which question the somewhat drowsy look of this character disguised as a pagan god.

Bacchus is the god of wine, drunkenness, spillovers (especially sexual), as well as nature. It is represented here with its attributes: the grape and the peg (shallow cut).

We can also note that Caravaggio knew the use of the representation of tilted wine. Indeed, this special iconography which seeks to make one feel a certain notion of drunkenness is visible with the non-horizontal wine in the cup held in hand and also in the carafe on the table.

Another interesting detail: in the carafe we can see the painter's reflection (1) on the surface of the wine. Caravaggio slipped his self-portrait there subliminally, onto the wine, as if to add thickness to the mystery of the mystical intoxication suggested in this scene.

And what about the gesture of his companion who poses for him, with his index ostensibly sunk into a knot of black velvet?

Caravage - Bacchus - 1590_ - Uffizi - ph

Caravage - Bacchus - 1590? - Uffizi - Photo Guy Mauchamp

The surface of the wine in the hook is slightly inclined by only one degree while in the carafe the wine is clearly inclined at 4 °. I'm talking about the degrees of tilt angle and not the alcohol level in the wine, you understood ;-)

IMG_E1785.JPG

Visual demonstration with a string showing the inclination of the wine in front of the Bacchus of Caravaggio at the Uffizi Florence .

Caravaggio, Bacchus, wine tilted in the glass

Caravaggio - Bacchus - The wine tilted in the coat hook and in the carafe.

But let's check if these inclinations correspond to a composition desired by the master of chiaroscuro.

Below, the line of sight of the left eye is wedged between the golden harmonic grid (mark in orange yellow) and the grid of the earth square (mark in green). This look is confirmed with a marker with the 9 ° line of sight (in blue) which points to the end of a vine branch. Another 18 ° line of sight (in dark blue) is wedged at the edge of the format on the inclined line of the wine in the crater.

Caravaggio - Bacchus - the gaze placed on the golden grid and on the earth square

Caravaggio - Bacchus - relation of the look with the wine tilted in the coat hook.

Below, the 36 ° line of sight (in yellow) rests on the wine inclined at 4 ° from the carafe on the edge of the format.

Caravaggio - Bacchus - the line of sight

Caravaggio - Bacchus - relation of the look with the wine tilted in the carafe.

Bacchus, god of drunkenness has a good eye on the intoxicating aspect of wine with his two eyes on the inclined lines of wine. But with his gaze fixed on the golden grid and the earth square, alcohol does not seem to be a simple hedonistic satisfaction, would it also allow to go through the golden door of mystical intoxication?

1: I'm sorry I can't show you this reflection better in the wine as it is melted in the dark color.

Do not hesitate to leave your comment, your questions at the bottom of the page, my pleasure is to be able to exchange with you on the pictorial composition. Thank you.

 

Guy MAUCHAMP

 

Work protected by copyright © guymauchampU79J1B9 and a deposit at SGDL Paris.

Iconographie de l'ivresse

L'ivresse mystique avec Caravage

Le Bacchus de Caravage montre une grande maitrise de la composition et de la lumière. Mais pas seulement, car il a aussi glissé des éléments mystérieux qui interrogent le regard quelque peu assoupi de ce personnage déguisé en dieu païen.

Bacchus est le dieu du vin, de l'ivresse, des débordements (notamment sexuels), ainsi que de la nature. Il est représenté ici avec ses attributs : le raisin et la patère (coupe peu profonde).

On peut noter aussi que Caravage connaissait l'usage de la représentation du vin incliné. En effet, cette iconographie spéciale qui cherche à faire ressentir une certaine notion de l'ivresse est visible avec le vin non horizontal dans la coupe tenue en main et également dans la carafe sur la table.

Autre détail intéressant : dans la carafe on peut distinguer le reflet du peintre (1) sur la surface du vin. Caravage a glissé là son autoportrait de façon subliminale, sur le vin, comme pour rajouter une épaisseur au mystère de l'ivresse mystique suggéré dans cette scène.

Et que dire du geste de son compagnon qui pose pour lui, avec son index ostensiblement enfoncé dans un nœud de velours noir ?

Caravage - Bacchus - 1590_ - Uffizi - ph

Caravage - Bacchus - 1590? - Uffizi - Photo Guy Mauchamp

La surface du vin dans la patère est légèrement inclinée d'un seul degré alors que dans la carafe le vin est nettement inclinée à 4°. Je parle là des degrés d'angle d'inclinaison et non du taux d'alcool dans le vin, vous l'aviez compris ;-)

Démonstration de visu avec une ficelle montrant l'inclinaison du vin devant le Bacchus de Caravage aux Uffizi Florence.

Caravage, Bacchus, le vin incliné dans l

Caravage - Bacchus - Le vin incliné dans la patère et dans la carafe.

Mais vérifions si ces inclinaisons correspondent bien à une composition voulue par le maître du clair-obscure.

Ci-dessous, la ligne de regard de l'œil gauche se cale entre la grille harmonique dorée (repère en jaune orange) et la grille du carré terre (repère en vert). Ce regard se confirme avec un marqueur avec la ligne de regard à 9° (en bleu) qui pointe le bout d'une branche de vigne. Une autre ligne de regard à 18° (en bleu foncé) vient se caler au bord du format sur la ligne inclinée du vin dans le cratère.

Caravage - Bacchus - le regard posé sur

Caravage - Bacchus - relation du regard avec le vin incliné dans la patère.

Ci-dessous, la ligne de regard à 36° (en jaune) s'appuie sur le vin incliné à 4° de la carafe sur le bord du format.

Caravage - Bacchus - la ligne de regard

Caravage - Bacchus - relation du regard avec le vin incliné dans la carafe.

Bacchus, dieu de l'ivresse a bien l'œil sur l'aspect enivrant du vin avec ses deux regards sur les lignes inclinées du vin. Mais avec son regard calé sur la grille dorée et sur le carré terre, l'alcool ne semble pas être qu'une simple satisfaction hédoniste, permettrait-il aussi de passer par la porte dorée de l'ivresse mystique ?

1 : je suis désolé de ne pouvoir mieux vous montrer ce reflet dans le vin tant il est fondu dans la couleur sombre.

N'hésitez pas à laisser votre commentaire, vos questions en pied de page, mon plaisir est de pouvoir échanger avec vous sur la composition picturale. Merci.

Guy MAUCHAMP

 

Travail protégé par un copyright ©guymauchampU79J1B9 et un dépôt à la SGDL Paris.